Taboola Glossary
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Written by Maya
Updated over a week ago

A/B Testing - Used for testing two or more parts of one campaign at the same time. The goal of A/B testing is to find which traffic leads to better performance. Example: Testing 2 different thumbnails with the same title.


Actions - These are events that take place on your site, being tracked through Taboola’s Pixel. Actions will be recorded in your campaign reporting under the Conversions column.


Account ID - This is your Taboola account unique identifier. It can be found in the URL (website address) when in your Backstage account. Example: If your account ID is 123456, the URL, when in Backstage, will look like this: https://backstage.taboola.com/backstage/123456

Attribution - A connection between an action and the original click that was “responsible” for it. Taboola will attribute actions based on when the converted user first clicked. Example: If a user clicks your campaign item on Tuesday, and then that same user converts on Friday, Backstage will show the “action” (conversion) under Tuesday’s data.

Account - Your account is associated with your unique email address, password, and your billing information. Your account consists of one or more campaigns.

Automatic Billing - With this type of billing schedule, you’ll have a set billing increment which is the total amount your campaigns can spend before you have to pay again. Billing increments are typically $100.

Average CPC -The average amount you have been charged per click. This is calculated by dividing the total cost of your clicks by the total number of clicks.

Branding Text - The attribution text that will appear under your campaign item’s title and image in Taboola placements. The branding text lets users know who is “behind” the item, giving them a sense of confidence as to the credibility of the product or website being promoted.

Campaign - Your campaign is where you set the branding text, budget, and CPC, as well as the audience you want to target. Your campaigns contain one or more campaign items.

Campaign Items - Campaign items are what your users see and click on in Taboola placements.

Clicks - The total number of user clicks your campaign items received.

Content Type Targeting - The ability to target your campaigns to web pages about specific topics. If you chose a content type to target, it means your campaign items will only appear on websites or web pages about that topic. Example: If you have a sports blog and want your campaigns to appear only on sports sites.

Conversion - When a user takes a desired action on your landing page. A conversion could be a product purchase, a pageview, an email sign up or another type of action that is valuable to you and your business.

Conversion Rate (CVR) - The percentage of visitors from your Taboola campaigns who completed a conversion (i.e. purchase, pageview, etc.). The conversion rate is calculated by dividing the number of users who completed a conversion by the number of users who clicked on your campaign items.

Conversion Tracking - Enables you to know when a conversion happens on your website after someone clicks on your Taboola campaign item.

Conversion Tracking Code - A piece of code you place on your website that enables you to track conversions in your Taboola campaign reporting.

CPA (Cost Per Action) - This is the amount you pay per conversion (actions), such as a product purchase, pageview or email signup. To calculate a campaign’s average CPA, divide the total amount of money spent by the number of actions. Example: If you spend $500 and get 10 conversions, your CPA is $500/10 = $50.

CPC (Cost Per Click) - This is the amount you pay for each click on one of your campaign items.


CPM (Cost Per One Thousand Impressions) - The amount you pay per one thousand impressions of your campaign items. Example: If your CPM is $0.25, it means you have paid $0.25 for every 1,000 impressions of your campaign items.

Credit Limit - An approved monthly amount that you can spend in your campaigns before making a payment to Taboola. You will have a credit limit if you use the monthly invoice billing schedule.


CTR (Clickthrough Rate) - This measures the percentage of users who clicked on your campaign items. CTR is calculated by dividing the number of clicks for your campaign items by the number of impressions for your campaign items.

Destination URL - The URL of the web page to which you want to direct users who click on your campaign items. This could be any type of web page, such as a gallery, blog, article or video.

Exclusion Targeting - Allows you to exclude users who have previously visited your website from your campaign targeting, so you spend your budget to get new visitors, rather than returning ones.

Impressions - The total number of times users saw your campaign items. Each time your campaign item is displayed, it’s counted as one impression.

Landing Pages - Where your users arrive after they click your campaign items. The better the landing page experience is, the easier it is for your users to navigate through it.

Monthly Invoice Billing - A type of billing where Taboola will charge you via invoice on a monthly basis. Each invoice will reflect your total advertising spend for one month of service.

Pageviews - The number of pages a user visits after they click on your campaign item. This metric is commonly called “Pages Per Visit.”

Prepayment Billing - With this type of billing, you will need to pay before your campaigns can run. For example, if you pay $500 to start, you will be able to run campaigns with up to $500 in spend before needing to make another payment to keep your campaigns live.

Retargeting - Allows you to show your campaign items to people who have previously visited your website. This is helpful for a number of campaign goals, including brand awareness and conversions.

ROI (Return on Investment) - The ratio of your net profit to your investment/advertising costs.

Server to Server (S2S) Tracking - Also known as mobile app conversion tracking, this helps you track and measure mobile app campaign performance. This can be used to help track app installs or in-app actions resulting from your Taboola campaigns.

Spending Limit - Your budget for your campaign. This is the maximum you are willing to spend within a set timeframe for your campaign, either monthly or for the entire campaign.

Spent - This is the total spend for your campaign for a selected time period.

Thumbnail - The image that will appear above the title in Taboola placements.

Title - The headline for your campaign item that will show under the thumbnails.

URL Parameters - An advanced tracking tool to help you monitor users’ activity after they have clicked your campaign items. URL parameters allow you to understand how users behave once they’ve clicked on your Taboola campaign items, using your analytics platform (e.g. Google Analytics or Adobe Omniture).

Video Views - The number of videos a user watches after they click on your campaign item.

Viewable CPM (vCPM)- The amount you pay per one thousand viewable impressions of your campaign items. For example, if your Viewable CPM is $0.25, it means you have paid $0.25 for every 1,000 viewable impressions of your campaign items.

Viewable CTR (vCTR)- This measures the percentage of users who clicked on the campaign items that were seen by users. Viewable CTR is calculated by dividing the number of clicks for your campaign items by the number of viewable impressions for your campaign items.

Viewable Impressions - The total number of times your campaign items are seen by users. Each time your campaign item is on the screen for 1 second (per MRC standards), it’s counted as one impression.

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