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Taboola Glossary - Tool Tips
Taboola Glossary - Tool Tips
Maya avatar
Written by Maya
Updated over 2 years ago

A/B Testing - Testing two or more parts of one campaign at the same time. Example: Testing 2 different thumbnails with the same title.


Actions - Conversions on your site. Actions will be recorded in your campaign reporting.


Account ID - This is your Taboola account unique identifier. Example: If your account ID is 123456, the URL, when in Backstage, will look like this: https://backstage.taboola.com/backstage/123456

--- Attribution - A connection between an action and the original click that was “responsible” for it. Taboola will attribute actions based on when the converted user first clicked. Example: If a user clicks your campaign item on Tuesday, and then that same user converts on Friday, Backstage will show the “action” (conversion) under Tuesday’s data.

Account - Includes your unique email address, password, and billing information. Your account consists of one or more campaigns.

Automatic Billing - A set billing increment which is the total amount your campaigns can spend before you have to pay again.

Average CPC -The average amount charged per click.

Branding Text - The attribution text that appears under your campaign item’s title and image in Taboola placements.

Campaign - Where you set the branding text, budget, CPC, and target audience.

Campaign Items - What your users see and click on in Taboola placements.

Clicks - The total number of user clicks your campaign items received.

Content Type Targeting - Targeting your campaigns to web pages about specific topics. Example: If you have a sports blog and want your campaigns to appear only on sports sites.

Conversion - When a user takes a desired action on your landing page. A conversion could be a product purchase, a pageview, an email sign up or another type of action that is valuable to you and your business.

Conversion Rate (CVR) - The percentage of visitors from your Taboola campaigns who completed a conversion (i.e. purchase, pageview, etc.).

Conversion Tracking - Enables you to know when conversions happen on your Taboola campaign item.

Conversion Tracking Code - A piece of code on your website that enables you to track conversions.

CPA (Cost Per Action) - The amount you pay per conversion (actions). To calculate a campaign’s average CPA, divide the total amount of money spent by the number of actions. Example: If you spend $500 and get 10 conversions, your CPA is $500/10 = $50.

CPC (Cost Per Click) - The amount you pay for each click on one of your campaign items.


CPM (Cost Per One Thousand Impressions) - The amount you pay per one thousand impressions of your campaign items. Example: If your CPM is $0.25, it means you have paid $0.25 for every 1,000 impressions of your campaign items.

--- Credit Limit - An approved monthly spending amount you have before making a payment to Taboola. You will have a credit limit if you use the monthly invoice billing schedule.


CTR (Clickthrough Rate) - Measures the percentage of users who clicked on your campaign items.

Destination URL - The URL of the web page to which you want to direct users who click on your campaign items. This could be any type of web page, such as a gallery, blog, article or video.

Exclusion Targeting - Allows you to exclude users who have previously visited your website.

--- Impressions - The total number of times users saw your campaign items. Each time your campaign item is displayed, it’s counted as one impression.

Landing Pages - Where your users arrive after they click your campaign items.

Monthly Invoice Billing - Taboola will charge you via invoice on a monthly basis. Each invoice will reflect your total advertising spend for one month of service.

Pageviews - The number of pages a user visits after they click on your campaign item. This metric is commonly called “Pages Per Visit.”

Prepayment Billing - You will need to pay before your campaigns can run. For example, if you pay $500 to start, you will be able to run campaigns with up to $500 in spend before needing to make another payment to keep your campaigns live.

Retargeting - Showing your campaign items to people who have previously visited your website. This is helpful for a number of campaign goals, including brand awareness and conversions.

ROI (Return on Investment) - The ratio of your net profit to your investment/advertising costs.

Server to Server (S2S) Tracking - Also known as mobile app conversion tracking, this helps you track and measure mobile app campaign performance.

Spending Limit - Your budget for your campaign.

Spent - The total spend for your campaign for a selected time period.

Thumbnail - The image that will appear above the title in Taboola placements.

Title - The headline for your campaign item that will show under the thumbnails.

URL Parameters - A tracking tool that monitors users’ activity after clicking on your campaign items.

Video Views - The number of videos a user watches after they click on your campaign item.

Viewable Impressions - The total number of times your campaign items are seen by users. Each time your campaign item is on the screen for 1 second (per MRC standards), it’s counted as one impression.

Viewable CPM (vCPM)- The amount you pay per one thousand viewable impressions of your campaign items. For example, if your Viewable CPM is $0.25, it means you have paid $0.25 for every 1,000 viewable impressions of your campaign items.

Viewable CTR (vCTR)- This measures the percentage of users who clicked on the campaign items that were seen by users. Viewable CTR is calculated by dividing the number of clicks for your campaign items by the number of viewable impressions for your campaign items.

Viewable Impressions - The total number of times your campaign items are seen by users. Each time your campaign item is on the screen for 1 second (per MRC standards), it’s counted as one impression.

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